Connecting Aerospace Interests

AMTEC Launches Mechatronics Training

amtec mechatronics smallEverett Community College (EvCC) is investing in the future of manufacturing. EvCC’s Advanced Manufacturing Training & Education Center(AMTEC) recently rolled out a short certificate in mechatronics and is developing a two-year degree for the fall. The nationally-approved curriculum includes industry-endorsed skills standards in electrical mechanics, computerized components, and industrial manufacturing and assembly to prepare students for jobs as electro-mechanical technicians.

Everett Community College is a lead college for Washington state in a national educational partnership with the Automotive Manufacturing Technical Education Collaborative. The collaborative is funded through the National Science Foundation and includes regional and national partners such as Boeing, Amazon, Absolute Manufacturing, and Cascade Coffee Company.

AMTEC is expanding by 17,000 square feet over the summer to create room for training and equipment, like a new robotic simulator. Once complete, AMTEC will have a combined space of 54,000 square feet, housing mechatronics as well as precision machining, engineering technology, welding and fabrication, composites, and manufacturing pre-employment.

“What makes AMTEC especially unique is the training environment,” said Sheila Dunn, EvCC associate dean of aerospace and advanced manufacturing careers. “Students participate in the complete manufacturing life-cycle while collaborating on projects and that experience really gives them an advantage out in the workforce.”


Learn more at


Pacific Northwest Aerospace Alliance

Mail Stop: 16625 Redmond Way, Ste M #187,
Redmond, WA 98052

Phone: 425-885-0290
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 


Pacific Northwest Aerospace Alliance is a non-profit organization that promotes the growth and global competitiveness of the Pacific Northwest Aerospace Cluster. Please consider donating to our scholarship fund.